BHS Marine Corps JROTC Recognized as Naval Honor School for Second Year 

For the sec­ond year straight, the Bensalem High School Marine Corps JROTC was named by Headquarters Marine Corps as a Naval Honor School for its over­all efforts dur­ing the 2021–2022 school year.  This dis­tinc­tion is giv­en only to Marine Corps JROTCs, con­sid­ered the top 20 per­cent of pro­grams nationwide. 

Announced ini­tial­ly and bestowed upon the Bensalem MCJROTC at the begin­ning of this school year, the cer­e­mo­ny to offi­cial­ly hang the stream­er to their unit col­ors was delayed as the JROTC await­ed the return of for­mer cadet Executive Officer and now U.S. Marine Corps Private First Class Alayna Schnorbus (BHS ‘22).  She grad­u­at­ed from Basic Training at Marine Recruit Depot, Paris Island, SC and has now returned home. 

Alayna, togeth­er with last year’s Company Commander Jayden Fobbs of Holy Family University and for­mer cadet staff Emily Maywhort attend­ed this morning’s cer­e­mo­ny in the gym­na­si­um at Bensalem High School.

Special thanks to Congressman Brian Fitzpatrick for attend­ing today’s cer­e­mo­ny and pre­sent­ing the BHS MCJROTC with a flag that was flown over the U.S. Capital building. 

Amazing job by the Bensalem Marine Corps JROTC cadets. Time and time again last school year, the cadets rose to the occa­sion, and we are so thank­ful that the cadets are now able to enjoy the fruit of their accom­plish­ments. It was a nice cher­ry on top of what we con­sid­ered a most suc­cess­ful year,” said Master Sergeant Shawn Worthen USMC (Ret.) — Leadership Studies — Marine Instructor.

BHS ROTC Cadets with dignitaries

Pictured from L to R are: Colonel John Church (Leadership Studies Department — Senior Marine Instructor/Marine Instructor); Emily Maywhort (for­mer BHS ’22 Cadet Staff); U.S. Marine Corps Private First Class Alayna Schnorbus (BHS ’22 Executive Officer); Mr. Frank Flanagan (BHS Principal); Mrs. Heather Nicholas (School Board Director); Cadet Private First Class Sasha Kalpupersaud; Cadet Sergeant Samantha Flynn; Cadet Staff Sergeant Jacob Huttenberger; Cadet Sergeant Nyah Hyers; Congressman Brian Fitzpatrick; Dr. Sam Lee (Superintendent of School); and Jayden Fobbs (2021–22 Cadet Company Commander); and Shawn Worthen ( Master Sergeant USMC (Ret.)